Brewers Inside and Out – Writing Archive

In the sixth grade we were given the assignment to create our own magazine.  I think I took the “write about what you know” thing to heart because I made my magazine content about the Milwaukee Brewers.  At least I thought I knew what I was talking about.  And as you can see below, Pete Rose was still playing the game and sliding headfirst…

How to Slide

In this article I am going to teach you how to slide.  One of the worst ways to slide is head first.  You can be seriously injured.  If you slide the person at the base will jump to get out of the way.  When he lands it might be on your head or arms.  You will be lucky if you can play again.  If you slide you should slide feet first.

Many players like Pete Rose, Paul Molitor, and Robin Yount slide head first and they have never been really hurt.  Some players will slide both head first and feet first according to which base they are sliding into.  Second base and home plate the players will slide feet first into, but third base is where they will slide head first.  A few players will not slide even if they have to.  They could get hit by the player going for the ball.  But that’s better than sliding head first.

Howard Cosell Talks about the Brewers

“How did you get into T.V., Howard?”

“It all started in Las Vegas when I bet against Muhammad Ali and won $11, 000,000.  I took the money and went to ABC and they bet it on NBC and CBS and they won $15,387, 512.  So the president of ABC made me a sportscaster.”

“What do you think of the Milwaukee – “

“Oh, the Bucks?”

“No Howard, the Brewers!”

“Are you questioning my sports knowledge, kid?”

“No, but what do you think of the Brewers in one word?”

“In one word?”

“Yes, one word.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yes, I’m sure.”

“Now I can’t remember what I was going to say.”

“I have been interviewing Howard Cosell of sportscasting fame.  Next week we’ll find out what George Steinbrenner thinks of the Milwaukee Brewers.”

 

Leave a comment